Tuesday, May 10, 2005

"Takings" Bill Gets Through 2nd Reading

The house passed Robby Cook's HB 2833 that requires a taxpayer subsidy to developers for basic public health regulations, including regulations to protect our drinking water supplies yesterday. Among Representatives of the aquifer, however, the measure was soundly defeated: 12 voting against and 8 in favor. We are grateful to our Representatives who voted to protect our public health, safety and property values!

The table below lays out how aquifer representatives voted. Please call your representative and thank them if they voted against. Let them also know that you are disappointed if they voted for.

Thanks so much for all your work. Clearly, it makes a difference.

Baxter Todd For
Casteel Carter For
R 463-0325
Castro Joaquin Against
D 463-0669
Corte Frank For
R 463-0646
Dukes Dawnna Against
D 463-0506
Gattis Dan For
R 463-0309
Hilderbran Harvey For
R 463-0536
Keel Terry For
R 463-0652
Leibiwitz David Against
D 463-0269
Martinez Fischer Trey Against
D 463-0616
McClendon Ruth Jones For
D 463-0708
Menendez Jose Against
D 463-0634
Naishtat Elliott Against
D 463-0668
Puente Robert Against
D 463-0452
Rodriguez Eddie Against
D 463-0674
Rose Patrick Against
D 463-0647
Strama Mark Against
D 463-0821
Strauss Joe For

Uresti Carlos Against
D 463-0714
Villarreal Mike Against
D 463-0532

For some background check out B and B.

UPDATE 5/10/05- 11:11 AM
The original list was wrong. Thanks for letting me know PM. It appears that when I originally posted it, it was autosorted and threw things off. Here is the correct list.

UPDATE 5/12/05- 8:57 AM
The San Antonio Express-News has an editorial out today mocking HB 2833 and asking for it to be defeated. I encourage you all to read it.


At 8:52 AM, Blogger P.M.Bryant said...

I'm having a hard time making sense of that voting list. Eddie Rodriguez, the guy who managed to delay the thing twice over the last few weeks, voted for this bill?

Uresti, Villareal, and Puente voted for it?

Corte voted against it?

I saw an "uncertified" vote tally yesterday afternoon on the legislature web site (it appears to be gone now, alas) that showed Uresti, Villareal, Puente, and Leibiwitz all voting against it.

Have to say I'm confused.

At 9:09 AM, Blogger Matt Glazer said...

I will double check it. I thought it was surprising too.

At 9:55 AM, Blogger P.M.Bryant said...

Thanks for the update. The new list makes much more sense. Alas, the outcome is the same.


Post a Comment

<< Home